My first acupuncture appointment

neck_72ppi_A5_07

I had my first acupuncture treatment last Friday with Sharon Hansford.  She works within Rugby Community Acupuncture, a surgery where the practitioner can work on up to three patients at the same time, therefore reducing the cost.

Sharon is professional, personable and inspiring – she made a career change after 20 years in banking and seems to have a real passion for her work.  I was somewhat sceptical about acupuncture, but almost immediately felt that she could ‘read me’, which really gave me confidence in her.

I’m not particularly squeamish about needles, but for those who are, be reassured that they are very small!

Of course, I want to have at least 5 or 6 sessions before I evaluate it as useful or not for my neck pain, but I would recommend it – so far – based on the following positive effects alone;

           – as with my experience with the massage therapist, I found talking to someone who seems to know about what I’m experiencing to be therapeutic in itself.  In a sea of blank expressions and shrugs, talking to someone who recognises my problem is a relief!

          – as I’ve discovered – for me – it feels good to do ‘something’ rather than nothing, to take a proactive and positive step towards healing

          – the act of sitting still, of focusing on only what’s happening just in that moment was relaxing – always a good thing

I’m looking forward to exploring this more.

2 thoughts on “My first acupuncture appointment

  1. hotmail email says:

    Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing
    very good results. If you know of any please share.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

