Why am I so reluctant to change?

tumblr_mij58zOqyB1s13t7lo1_

I’ve been trying to change my posture recently. I’ve been trying to be more active. I’ve been trying to change my working habits. I’ve been trying to change my lifestyle altogether. It’s a lot of change to take on all at once, especially when I still need to get the same work done, to achieve the same goals as before

I hate to moan, but it’s hard!  The fact is that I was pretty happy as I was, spending hours hunched over my laptop, lost in my work, going about my life as I did.

So, sometimes, I defiantly work for a little bit longer than I should just because I want to.

Sometimes – just sometimes – curled up on the sofa, I stay in the position that I can feel is starting to nag at me, just because I want to.

Sometimes I stay in bed instead of getting up that half an hour early to do some stretches or a workout, just because I want to.

I am reluctant to change because I didn’t want to change. It wasn’t my decision. I’m stubborn. It isn’t such a simple equation of ‘identify the things that cause you pain’ and ‘stop doing them’.

It’s a process. Change takes time.

Leave a Reply

