Cyber-chondria

1_123125_2126996_2180740_2205855_081212_tech_cybersick_tn_jpg_CROP_original-original

Nice Lady Doctor writes here about cyberchondria, the phenomonen of internet self-diagnosis and goes on to say that “when patients arrive having diagnosed themselves over the internet, I feel as though I have been given a gift.”

Oh, how I wish I had a doctor like that.

The first time I mentioned the “i” word to my GP, he sniggered and asked me if I was worried I had had a stroke.  (Actually, I hadn’t even considered stroke and went straight home to look it up!!)

I am not the patient who has convinced themselves they’re dying of the first Google result they found.  I am the patient who has read all around an issue in an attempt to discover what’s really happening to me.  I am the patient who respects a doctors education and knowledge.  I am the patient who will gingerly mention, after having already given all the information I can offer about my symptoms, a possible diagnosis idea to see whether it will fly…

Invariably, I’ve found it to be met with very little response (and perhaps, I suspect, a bit of eye-rolling after I’ve left the room.. or am I being paranoid?!)

I think it’s fair to say that most people are intelligent enough to be able to handle reading about medical conditions and use the information in a positive way.  My goodness, I don’t know where I would be now without it.

I wish I had a doctor who wanted to empower me to take control of my own illness (particularly as, after eight months, I am yet to receive one single bit of useful advice), and I can’t really see the benefit of not doing this…?

2 thoughts on “Cyber-chondria

  1. Otter says:

    Sorry you aren’t stateside, I’ve got a great neurologist. He listens to my thoughts, we communicate via email between visits, and he loves that I research (and blog!).
    Come visit Kentucky and I’ll hook you up! (It’s the only good thing about Kentucky.)

    • Toni says:

      I’m sorry, too, how great that must be! You ‘communicate’, wow!! Being heard and understood is so important. Thanks very much for your comment.

Leave a Reply

