Big. fat. failure.

MSDRUPE EC002

Why am I so reluctant to exercise? All I wanted to do was walk half an hour a day for seven days, and I failed on day 4! Pathetic.

Even though I know it will help improve my situation, I still don’t want to do it. Even though I know that I enjoy it once I get started, I still don’t want to do it. Even though it makes me feel empowered and positive and confident, I still don’t want to do it. What would it take?

So, why not exercise?

  • I don’t want to go out in to the cold (it’s so snowy and windy and horrible today…)
  • it takes too much time, I always have so much else to do
  • I don’t have the right clothes
  • I’m lazy…
  • I’m lazy…
  • I’m lazy.

So, how to get over this initial thought process every time..? Apparently, it takes 21 days to form a new habit.. how the hell am I going to get to day 21 when I can’t get to day 4?!

2 thoughts on “Big. fat. failure.

  1. Otter says:

    You need accountability. We, your readership, aren’t enough. Find someone to walk with. If not daily, then at least meet once per week. Challenge each other to walk every other day at first and build up to more.
    More than anything, don’t think you failed just yet. You’ve got a lifetime to keep working at it!
    Good luck!

    • Toni says:

      Hmm.. think you may have hit the nail on the head there.. I certainly wouldn’t make the excuses that I make to myself to someone else! Thanks.. I’ll think about that.

Leave a Reply

